Two professors elected to National Academy of Sciences

Helen Blau

June 2, 2016

Two professors of microbiology and immunology have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

School of Medicine faculty members Helen Blau, PhD, and John Boothroyd, PhD, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

They were formally inducted in April to the academy, which was created in 1863 to advise the nation on issues related to science and technology. Scholars are elected to the academy in recognition of their outstanding contributions to research.

The academy also elected seven other Stanford faculty members to its ranks this year.

John Boothroyd

Blau is the Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Foundation Professor and a professor of microbiology and immunology. She directs the Baxter Laboratory for Stem Cell Biology. Her research has uncovered regulatory networks controlling nuclear reprogramming and therapeutic agents to enhance muscle regeneration in aging and dystrophy.

Boothroyd is the Burt and Avery Professor of Immunology, a professor of microbiology and immunology, and the associate vice provost for graduate education. His research focuses on how the intracellular parasite, Toxoplasma gondii, causes disease in the developing fetus and in those who are immunocompromised though AIDS, cancer or transplantation.

The original article appeared here.